Muddy Enclosed Run

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by melandtodd, Sep 11, 2011.

1. melandtodd

melandtodd Out Of The Brooder

Jun 17, 2011
    Bowling Green
    With all of this rainy weather our outdoor enclosed run is so wet and squishy! How do I keep my "ladies" safe from coccidiosis when the run is so wet? Of course, the indoor coop is nice and dry. I am new to raising chickens----1 polish rooster and 13 black australorpes that are 14 weeks old. Am I worrying for nothing or do you have any suggestions?

2. citychickx6

citychickx6 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2011
    Loveland
    Sand I hear is a good solution. About 6 inches thick should help the drainage. There is a thread where someone was putting in some drainage but I don't know exactly how.

3. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

When I have a mud problem even a couple of inches of sand has helped a great deal. They will turn it over and you might want to add more than that.

With my large chicken yard, I cannot cover the whole thing. So I just take 4 bags of play sand and sprinkle it over my walkways and around the waterers.

4. melandtodd

Jun 17, 2011
    Bowling Green
    Thank you so much for the quick replies! I do have bags of sand for their "sand spa tray"...I will pour that out in the morning.

5. remuda1

remuda1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 12, 2011
    Granbury, Texas
    Might be a good idea to get rid of the hay or straw out there before you do the sand if it's going in the same spots. I only leave hay out there when the run is dry. It will tend to keep the run from drying out and wet usually leads to stinky. That's my experience so far anyway [​IMG]

6. kuntrygirl

kuntrygirl Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

Feb 20, 2008
    Opelousas, Louisiana