Mulberries Safe?

Straubby

In the Brooder
9 Years
May 12, 2010
new hampshire,ohio
Ok So This Is My First Year With My Flock I Have A Large Mulberry Tree And I Wonder If They Will Hurt My Girls If They Eat Them.there Isnt Any Way To Keep Them Away Once The Berries Start To Fall Unless I Lock Them Up For A Couple Months.i Literally Have Had Hundreds Of Wild Birds In My Yard At One Time Just Eating The Berries On The Ground So I Know The Girls Will Have Access To A Ton Of Them. Other Then Apple Seeds Are Any Other Fruits Bad For Them?

They will be fine. Perhaps a bit of diahrea if they have to many, but no big whoop.

Quote:
yuckyuck.gif

Quote:
See my BYC page pics. I have two mature Illinois everbearing Mulberry trees in my large run. I put them there years ago with the intention of feeding my chickens. I have since also planted apple and persimmon trees to extend the free food season. I also grow tomatoes in chicken proof cages in the run that grow up and over the cage onto a trellis to drop the free food to the chickens. The darn chicken run tomatoes grow better then my garden cage tomatoes. My garden shares a fence line with the coop run and surplus/spoiled produce gets tossed to the chickens. When I'm done in the fall with the garden harvest, then I open the door from the chicken run to the fenced garden and the chickens clean it up and even till the garden for me over the fall and winter.