Murry McMurry hatchery-anyone want any?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Rachel's Hobby Hatchery, Sep 23, 2010.

1. Rachel's Hobby Hatchery

Rachel's Hobby Hatchery Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 16, 2010
    North West Michagan
    Hi, I would love to buy a couple of birds from murry mcmurry but I dont have the $$ or room for all of those chicks, I would like to have at least one other person order with me (you can pick what breeds you want & pay only for your birds & I will do the same) we can split shipping in 1/2. I can start your birds if you want (Im not good at telling what breeds when they are babies until they feather out). Im located in Kalkaska, MI. I plan to order them some time in April so there is plenty of time... LMK if you have the same idea.

2. rhoda_bruce

rhoda_bruce Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 19, 2009
    Cut Off, LA
    I do wish you luck, but if you set up for a small operation, why not just go to your local feed store next spring and pick up chicks there. You can get a very small amt. Now if you had been wanting to get a large amount, I would understand ordering from a hatchery. Cackle will sell a smaller amt of chicks than McMurray.

3. Chick_In_The_Burbs

Chick_In_The_Burbs Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 26, 2010
    Western Washington
    If you're looking at a hatchery to buy from you could go through mypetchicken.com. They have a minumim order of 3 chicks if you're in a large city and if you're within a 2 hour drive of that city I think the minimum is 8 chicks. You'd have to double check the website or ask to find out your minimum, but I bought through them and just drove to the nearest 'big city' (Denver) and picked them up from the post office there. They were mailed 'Care of Postmaster' directly to the post office with my phone number on the box. I now have three very happy EE ladies. So I am a bit bias... I could only legaly fit three in the coop I chose to get so... [​IMG]

4. math ace

math ace Overrun With Chickens