Muscovies: what color and pattern are these?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by jmc, Jan 23, 2010.

1. jmc

jmc Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 22, 2008
    South Central MA
    deleted

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2010
  2. CityChicker

CityChicker Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2009
    Deleted.

Last edited: Jan 25, 2010
  3. keeperofthehearth

keeperofthehearth Chillin' With My Peeps

John,
    Good to hear fm you again but what is the purpose of this thread if you are planning on starting another one to discuss this at a later time?

CityChicker, Muscovies are not Mallard derived. They can breed w/Mallard derived ducks but their progeny will be sterile.

I believe that due to forums like this, Muscovies have gained an audience and following to own/breed them for color that was probably not there before. You can't find much prior study done because the push & interest in breeding Scovies for "pets" & everything that goes along with that is relatively new. I am new to Muscovies & most of my neighbors have never heard or seen them before. MOST of the people who stop by our place of business ask "what are those? Geese?" Even people around here that did have Scovies growing up only knew that they were ducks and that's about all.

I will be interested in following a thread discussing color genetics, nomenclaute problems etc. though I doubt I will be able to contribute much to the conversation. My DH is the brilliant one around here. I clean up messes & try to keep everyone comfortable & happy. [​IMG]

4. CityChicker

CityChicker Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 21, 2009