Muscovy, blood in feces.

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by HortenseCumberbatch, Jul 30, 2013.

1. HortenseCumberbatch

HortenseCumberbatch In the Brooder

Jun 15, 2011
    Hi Everybody. This is sort of a cross post from the Illnesses and Emergency's section. I didn't have any luck there.
    Basically I have a muscovy who has bloody stools. I started the entire flock on Oxytetracycling HCI on Friday and it's Tuesday today. She's still got blood in her stool but otherwise seems fine. The entire flock seems fine. I just don't know what to do. Is there anything else, or in addition you think I should do? I am new to Muscovys. The whole thing makes me want to stop keeping a backyard flock. Thanks.

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Hang on. My first thoughts: parasites, infection, hardware disease.

You are working on the bacterial infection possibility. I don't know much about antibiotics, which would be best, etc. So not much to add there.

A parasite infection might cause some bloody stools. Ivermectin is often mentioned. There's wazine, also. I hope someone familiar with this checks in.

Hardware disease (swallowing metal) is tough to deal with. Some have had successful surgery, many have lost ducks to it.

Have you closely examined the vent? There is a tiny possibility of an injury just inside the vent.

3. Haunted55

Haunted55 Songster

Feb 15, 2012
    Central Maine
    Is it possible to get a picture of one of them? I'm looking at Storey's..Raising Ducks right now. A quick question, how much calcium are they getting? Too much calcium can cause blood in their droppings as could cocci, enteritis and parasites as Amiga has said. More info is needed to really be sure. Please, take a couple of pictures and post back.

4. HortenseCumberbatch

Jun 15, 2011