Muscovy Color and sex question

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by jamband, Jul 25, 2011.

1. jamband

jamband Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2011
    I have 3 muscovies I believe that 2 are males but want to be sure. they are 9 weeks old

What would there colors be considered?

Also if I am right about sex I will be getting 3 more ladies. what would good color choices be for breeding with my males? I prefer colors to all white since they will free range. Any rare colors I could breed? The folks I am getting them from have many colors available.

Thanks here are the pics
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. learycow

learycow Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 1, 2011
    Southern Maine
    I am new to muscovies, but I'll let you know what I think based on the few that I have!
    It looks to me like the light brown one is a female. From the pictures, it looks smaller than the other two. I'm not sure what color she would be considered. I have one just like her, so I am curious to see what other people leave for comments! She is definitely barred though.
    The one with a lot of white looks like a drake, he seems much larger. I also have one like that. I believe it is a blue and white pied, but again I am curious to see what other people comment.
    The black one is hard to tell in the pictures. I would say female because it looks smaller than the blue/white one, but it is hard to be sure. Mine are all at this stage right now, and there are a few like your black one that seem to be in the middle size-wise. So I'm not 100% what gender that one is. It looks like it is barred as well, but I'm not sure if it is called black or not. I have one with feathering that is similar in color, and looks green when in the sun.

3. jamband

Apr 26, 2011