Muscovy drake unable to stand

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by mystkblu, Aug 3, 2011.

1. mystkblu

mystkblu Out Of The Brooder

Aug 3, 2011
    SW Colorado
    Howdy folks! Been a long time chicken and duck owner. I am a vet tech but specialized in equine and exotic so I'm really rusty when it comes to poultry. I have a muscovy drake who is about 4 months old. I got him with 3 welsh harlequins and a muscovy hen in late May.

They have all thrived and grown beautifully and have acclimated to our farm just fine. They interact with our chickens, dwarf and pygmy goats and horses without any issues. They have been fed clean scratch grain, a duck crumble and veggies, forage and crawdads from the ponds and ditches. They also raid the chicken layer crumbles and sweet feed for the goats and horses. All food on our farm is unmedicated.

Two days ago I noticed the muscovy was lame. Weight bearing but definitely favoring his left leg. I figured he may have been stepped on by the pygmy goat and decided to watch him. The next day he was down and didn't want to move. When I encouraged him to walk he was able to get around on the right leg but refused to use the left. I checked him for wounds or breaks and found nothing out of the ordinary. I put him in his own pen with clean water and grain and left him to rest. Tonight he is unable to stand. I took him to the pond for some "hydrotherapy" and to see if he had any use of his legs. While he wasn't paddling strongly he does have range of motion in both legs, albeit limited. And he was able to push/pull himself from the pond using his wings and feet. I checked his legs again and he does have good circulation, no edema, no broken bones, no crepitus or dislocation in any joints and is able to curl his toes on his own. It seems that he has lost the strength and is unable to support himself.