1. Come check out hundreds of awesome coop pages (and a few that need suggestions) in our 2018 Coop Rating Project!

Muscovy drake with GREEN prolapsed penis - help!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by melissap, Jul 25, 2013.

1. melissap

melissap In the Brooder

Mar 22, 2012
    Vermont
    My huge drake has has about 5 inches of what I assume is prolapsed penis hanging out for 4 days. From what I've read I need to cut it off but it's not black, it's light greenish grey. Is that dead tissue? He's acting mellow but otherwise ok. If I cut it off, will he still be able to fertilize eggs?
    Thanks!

2. crissycriss

crissycriss Songster

Apr 8, 2012
    Heflin Alabama
    First off i am no expert. I haven't even delt with a prolapse but i have read on here where people push the penis back inside the drake. If its not dead. I not sure but i dont think its dead yet.(not sure why green may be dying or infected)But i would reseach on here more before you cut it off or wait for a more experenced person to answer. Not sure about him been able to breed after this. Good luck!!

3. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Loving this country life Premium Member

this is very serious
    Caralou

• Family Member.
    • [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    • [​IMG]
      • [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Re: Drake penis trouble

« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2010, 12:01 »

When drakes tread the penis comes fully out (I was amazed the first time I saw this with Bumble). Within about 30 seconds of the deed being done it should have retracted back in. If it is out for longer than this he may have suffered a phallus prolapse and you need to treat him quickly.