Muscovy Duck

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Maddiesmom1993, Feb 19, 2014.

1. Maddiesmom1993

Maddiesmom1993 New Egg

Feb 19, 2014
    Hello,
    I'm a teacher in Sacramento. A Muscovy duck has adopted the garden by my classroom as his new home. He seems ok: eating bugs, grooming, drinking water, and flying up to sit on the garden shed. He will sometimes venture to other parts of the school but always comes back to the garden by my classroom. He seems somewhat people friendly; he will let me get within a few feet from him. I set up a baby pool for him, but I don't want to feed him because I would like him to be motivated to go home. Does anyone have any ideas as to why he decided "hang around"? Should I feed him something? Any ideas appreciated!

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    He may have been one of too many drakes and dumped off at your school it happens more than we know. especially if he is some what friendly. He maybe able to survive on his own for a while if your in a warm climate where there are plenty of bugs and vegetation, But if it's still cold he will be hungry,and could starve. Maybe if you can't adopt him see if someone who works at the school maybe able to take him or if there is a farm around who may want him. Muscovy's make awesome pets but are not for everyone, mainly because they are messy [all water fowl are] And they need to have protection from predators especially at night. So whoever adopts him will hopefully have a secure house for him and hopefully a friend since they are flock animals and need company, food can be duck feed or all flock feed. and kiddy pool which you have already provided and a bucket deep enough for him to wash his face. I hope you can find him a good home [​IMG] and bless you for caring.

3. Maddiesmom1993

Maddiesmom1993 New Egg

Feb 19, 2014
    Miss Lydia,