Muscovy ducklings males or females?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Runa101, Aug 24, 2014.

1. Runa101

Runa101 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 11, 2014
    I am new to Muscovy ducks and can't figure out whether I have males or females. I've read as much as I can online, and stared at the ducklings, and asked others for their opinions, but I still don't know. I'd appreciate help here! The ducks are 6 weeks old, and they all look alike to me - same size overall, same size feet, same size legs, their secondary wing feathers are all out and their primaries are not much more than pinfeathers, none of them have much in the way of caruncles yet, they all seem to walk pigeon toed. But I could be wrong, I never met a Muscovy until these three. I'm not even sure I have closeups of both light colored ducks. It could be the same one twice.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

These pictures are form two days ago:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. txcarl1258

txcarl1258 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 11, 2010
    Pleasanton
    My guess is top pic hen and the other two are drakes. However this could change as they mature. I have a solid black I was sure was a drake since it was two weeks old and now I am thinking it is a big female since my drakes are surpassing it in size.

3. GodsProvision

GodsProvision Out Of The Brooder

May 29, 2014
    Sachse, Texas
    Ours are nearly two and a half weeks old and we are curious to find out what we have. There are seven total. Three are yellow and four are black yellow. It is possible that they are some eggs from each of our momma ducks. Only one of them sat on them and the other is sitting on eggs that should be all hers.

4. Runa101

Aug 11, 2014
    Thank you for your input! Could you tell me what you're seeing that makes you think the top one is duck and the others drakes? Any info on what I'm trying to see would be most helpful.