Muscovy Sexing at 8 weeks

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by LilyD, Aug 19, 2014.

1. LilyD

LilyD Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 24, 2011
    Bristol, VT
    Okay so I think I am starting to see differences between boy and girl here but there are a few I am still not sure of. Going to post them all and see
    what you think. Please correct any you think are wrong. This is my first year with growing babies so I am trying to learn.

[​IMG]#1: Okay this is Tuxedo and he is definitely a boy since he is one of the biggest ones we have.

[​IMG] #2: Brown Drake who is the same size as the first drake. Started a bit of angel wing I think this week. I will be wrapping his wings today.

[​IMG] #2 and #3: The brown one on the right I think is a duck. Smaller than the first two with little feet but already has the start of caruncles on it's face.

[​IMG] #4: Not sure about this one. Bigger than number 3 but no caruncles yet and average size feet. Not huge but not as small as number 3 either.

[​IMG] #4 again Same duck.

[​IMG] #5: I am thinking duck because it has no caruncles but that's the only definite sign.

[​IMG] #6: Puddles definitely drake. He just exudes manliness lol.

[​IMG] #7: Blue duck I think.

[​IMG]#8: Blue Drake I think love the white on the head.

[​IMG] #9: Duck? small and feminine?

[​IMG]#10 and #11: Totally unsure. I am thinking duck but they are larger with no caruncling and small feet so they don't fit any profile. The perfect example of ducks that don't read the book.

[​IMG]#12: This is Minny and she is definitely a duck. She is tiny maybe 2 or 3 pounds still and is my resident escape artist. I can't lock her in anywhere because in the morning she will be loose again.

[​IMG] #13: Maybe duck?

[​IMG]#14: Drake sorry for the poor picture. He is large has big feet.

[​IMG] #15: So not sure. Smaller than the ones I know are male but red around the beak. Not bumped up yet but very red. Smaller feet too.