Must I get them from the run to the coop at night?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by _SouthAfrican_, Sep 4, 2008.

1. _SouthAfrican_

_SouthAfrican_ Out Of The Brooder

Jul 25, 2008
    SE Mass
    I'm new at the chicken thing - our chicks are 8 weeks old. We just finished the coop yesterday and put them in it. Last night I had a hang of a time trying to get them from the run, through the chicken door, and into the coop to close them up for the night. As one went in, another escaped!

The run is attached to the coop, and the only way to get from the coop to the run and vice versa is through the chicken door.

I guess my questions are:
    1) Do I have to move them from the run to the coop every night?
    2) Does this have to be done by a certain time in the evening?

I know for certain that we have red-tailed hawks, fisher cats, foxes, coyotes etc. The run and the coop are both secure and closed on all sides, including the top.

Thank you!

Last edited: Sep 4, 2008
  2. Becaco

Becaco Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2008
    I have always left mine inside the coop for a few days, then turned them out. Most times they will go into the coop without any trouble.

We have a few 4 months old ones that like to get in the trees. We have shooed them out of the trees enough that now they see us most of them get down and go inside.

It also helps if you have a long stick to herd them.

3. spook

spook Chillin' With My Peeps

guess my questions are:
    1) Do I have to move them from the run to the coop every night?

Well, do you want them to be safe from preditors? It is up to you, how well you designed the coop and if you plan on allowing them to rule the roost. If they do not have a momma bird, then shouldn't you be their mother? Toss them in some grain, very small peices of bread to encourage them to come in for treats and close their door.

2) Does this have to be done by a certain time in the evening?