My 13 week old araucanas hate chick starter/grower - now what?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Arcane Araucana, Jul 13, 2010.

1. Arcane Araucana

Arcane Araucana In the Brooder

Jun 14, 2010
    Fort Mohave
    I'm new at this so bear with me. I've got 4 13 week old araucanas (2 roos/2 pullets). They've been on starter/grower since hatching. At around 2 weeks I started giving them trimings from my garden (spinach, beets, lettuce, arugula, egg plant) plus cabbage, carrot shavings, celery, broccoli, cantalope, watermelon in addition to having the starter available 24/7. It's now running between 110 and 117 degrees everyday in the desert. I give them fresh crumbles every morning at about 5 am, and then a big bowl of fresh chopped veggies. Their run is on sand so I put out some fresh clumps of hay about every three days or so. Between the time I give them the crumbles and the veggies, they go play in the run and then come running to the coop when they see me bringing the veggies, which they wolf down like they are starving. They peck around for a while and then between 9 and 10 I bring out the frozen water bottles and make an "ice fort" under the coop. They hang out under the coop all day. They've got plenty of fresh cold water in the coop and under the coop right next to the ice fort. I didn't think they were eating enough so I started putting a bowl of crumbles out in the run in the shade next to the ice fort. They don't have any interest in that. Around noon I being them some nice cold melon, which they devour and then go back into the fort. My husband said to try to fill them up in the morning before the unbearable heat sets in. I did bring them some cold cottage cheese one afternoon and I noticed leter that two of them had clear runny goo coming out of their mouths when they put their heads down. That stopped, but now I'm not feeding them after noon while it is this hot. At 7 I bring fresh crumbles but they turn their noses up at that aft