My 20 week chickens keep fighting the 2 older NEW chickens..:(

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by NaturalCharm81, Sep 27, 2011.

1. NaturalCharm81

NaturalCharm81 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 26, 2011
    [​IMG] I am new to chicken keeping as of May2011. I raised 5 Americanas from day old peeps. About 2 weeks ago I went to pick up a rhode island red and a barred rock that is about a month older than my 5 Americanas....Long story short the original chicks got past the barrier I had setup (i guess not very well) and they beat up the barred rock, while the rhode island red was trying to defend her (How do I know that..when I came in to check on them again the rhode island red was still kicking tailfeathers). Both her eyes were shut and I originally thought they had pecked them out. I did some research online and found that most posts i read said to pat/softly clean her face/eyes and put some neosporin on her eyelids....So I did and her eyes opened up, and i could see all the damage done on her face. Now my question is should I make the 2 new ones a seperate coop or pen??

2. navasima

navasima Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 6, 2011
    New Mexico
    [​IMG] Sorry it's under these circumstances! You are going to need to integrate slowly. Seperate the new girls right away and treat the wounds. If you can make a space for them where all the girls can see/hear each other, but not get to each other to fight. If you look up integrating, there are a lot of threads on that topic where people describe the methods they use in detail. When you set up a barrier - think of rival gangs in a turf war.....cause that's what you've got! [​IMG] It's going to be a while bafore the established flock considers letting strangers onto their turf. When they do (finally) come together...then they need to establish the pecking order. Yep! ...more fun ahead! [​IMG] Don't be discouraged though - just take a deep breath and be patient.......

3. Johnn

Johnn Overrun With Chickens