My (about) 5 month rooster is trying to peck me

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Huds-Hen, Oct 6, 2011.

1. Huds-Hen

Huds-Hen New Egg

Oct 6, 2011
    Hi my name is Hudson and I am 12. I take care of the chickens that we own by feeding, watering ect. I am pretty new to chickens, I know the basics, just not all of the in betweens. we have had our chickens for 7 months, and they were bought full grown.
    For a school project I brought home a 2 incubated chicks. when I brought them home they were about a week old.
    We later found out that we had a rooster and a hen. sadly the hen didn't make it [​IMG]
    The rooster is who I have a question about.
    Fred is now almost full grown, he is the same size as the others now. He has been fully put together with our older chickens that we got first.
    Recintly Fred has been puffing up and getting all big at me when I step into their pen to feed them. He has pecked my shoe a couple of times and I he chases behined me all the time. Is this a good thing, should I get mad at him? I don't know how to react and I don't know what to do with him. Is this a way of him saying that he likes me, or is he being agressive? I want to know what to do so that I don't let this get to far, or I do somthing wrong that makes it worse. [​IMG]
    Could someone please tell what this means and what I should do??
    Thanx!
    [​IMG]

Jess-A-Chick-A likes this.
  2. BantamoftheOpera

BantamoftheOpera Chillin' With My Peeps

May 24, 2010
    Southern Maine
    This is a sign of aggression with roosters. Be very careful around him and show him who is boss. There will be other posters who have more knowledge on aggressive roosters.

3. Pinky

Pinky Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 15, 2008
    South GA
    I would work towards fixing this while he's still young and not super aggressive. One thing you never want to do is run from him. That can make it worse.