1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

My Ameraucana hens are being bullies... Any suggestions?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Flyinthecoop, Aug 12, 2014.

1. Flyinthecoop

Flyinthecoop New Egg

May 14, 2014
    Hi everyone! I have 5 Ameraucana hens ( I am pretty sure they are true Ameraucanas and not easter eggers but I am not an expert). They are so sweet, a bit skittish but over all the nicest ladies you will ever know. (Unless you try and visit without treats!!! If you do that they chase you around until you give up the goods) Clever gals! They live in a 4x4 coop with a 14 x14 run. In the evening they are allowed to free range in the yard. I got them from my local feed store in late February 2014 and I am impatiently waiting for my first eggs.

We have recently developed a problem though. My smallest hen (named Buttercup) has always been the most skittish one. Today I noticed that the other ladies won't allow her to leave the coop without attacking her. I am really worried about it. I know that it is important to only intervene if blood is drawn but its hard to watch her sit in the coop all day in 90+ degree weather. She has access to food and water in the coop but she is too afraid to come down from the roosting bar to eat and drink. Anyone have any ideas on what I should do? Could this just be a pecking order thing or something else? Thanks everyone! [​IMG]

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]