1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

My babies are fighting

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by LaceyM, Aug 14, 2014.

1. LaceyM

LaceyM Out Of The Brooder

Aug 5, 2014
    I have 10 8-9 week chicks. I believe 3 of them are Leghorns (hatched from TJ fertile eggs) 2 of those are roos. The other 7 are EE and I am not sure which ones are Roos.
    my coop is small (still brood size) but there is a door for them to go out in the run. My run is about 13 feet wide and about 30 feet long.
    here's my issue. I am noticing at least 4 of the chicks are belly bumping each other and playing "who is taller" they do pick on the other chicks as well. Especially the leghorns roos.
    is this normal behavior for such young chicks?
    I am new to chickens and I am a first timer.

2. bigchickenjoe12

bigchickenjoe12 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 24, 2013
    Hollister,California
    Haha this is normal in young chicks especially males. About last week all my young Roos were doing the same, some even till they were bleeding. They are just setting up the pecking order to see who's tougher

3. LaceyM

Aug 5, 2014
    Thank you.
    is it just the roos that do this? If so, it will make it easy for me to figure out the boys from the girls.

4. bigchickenjoe12

Aug 24, 2013
    Hollister,California
    I'm really not sure... To me most of the time it is the Roos that start up little fights but I have also seen at times hens as well

5. LaceyM

Aug 5, 2014
    Well..... darn! I dont want any roos.... im sure my neighbors will be complaining(I live in the country but noise travels). So, out of respect.... I decided no roos.
    These are straight runs so I knew it could be 50/50. So far I noticed 4 are fighting. The others are too busy being chicks.

6. Teila