My babies growing up and still don't know for sure my breed

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by retiredwithchicks, Apr 8, 2009.

1. retiredwithchicks

retiredwithchicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 27, 2009
    Byrdstown, TN
    The chicks are now 6 and 7 weeks old. Lets see how we do this time in IDing them. I would appreciate any help you can give. I need to know so will know whether to get them a roo to accompany them. I am new but learning. They got to go outside for the first time today.

This one I really have no idea!!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

This one before was thought to be a light brahma
    [​IMG]

This one a golden laced wyondotte
    [​IMG]

This one a silver laced wyondotte
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

This one was never really decided. This one is also the smallest of the 80 birds, so expect it is one of the smaller standard variety.
    [​IMG]

2. sherrydeanne

sherrydeanne Chillin' With My Peeps

Could the first one be a welsummer? I'm no expert, just looks similar [​IMG]

3. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    The chick in the third pic is a light brahma. I don't know about the others, but I'm wondering if you might have a roo (chick in the first & second pics).

4. retiredwithchicks

retiredwithchicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 27, 2009
    Byrdstown, TN
    Yes, I am like you with the light brahma. Pretty sure that one is correct. The top ones should not be roosters since I have 4 of them that came with the rainbow layer assortment. I also know how mistakes are made. Thanks for the reply.

5. CANDLE98

CANDLE98 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 29, 2008
    Meridian Idaho
    Your first one looks a lot like my EE.

6. crazy for chicken

crazy for chicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 27, 2009
    Voorheesville
    1 looks like a welsummer
    the last looks to be a java if the beak is black and eyes are dark brown shanks and toes are black to dark willow and bottomes feet are yellow:D