My baby chicken died and id like to know what happened...

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by chicken1dinner, Apr 3, 2017.

1. chicken1dinner

chicken1dinner Just Hatched

Apr 3, 2017
    So I found this abandon baby chicken on the road one week ago and it was totally alone and just chirping for its mother. Before taking it upon myself to bring it home, I waited a good 5 hours far away from the baby hoping the mom would like come back but it didn't. I loved my first little baby bird. Didnt know what breed it was or the gender but I loved it and tried to take good care of it. Because im still a student I couldnt afford to buy a heating lamp and I had to keep it outside because my parents did not want that "thing" inside the house so I always checked the temperature outside to see if it was warm and inside a plastic bag would be a cardboard box filled with paper towels.Id place its make shift home in a big gardening pot along with clean water and rice (or occasionally fully cooked mongo beans which it really liked). Yesterday, I got sick and I could only check on it once in the middle of the day. It was fine. It was happy, running around like usual. Coming back from school, I went to check on it and I was so sad to hear it chirp so weakly. I was crying seeing that it couldnt move and just stayed in this weird sleeping postion where its neck was kind of tilted to the side. Its eyes were open and I was breathing normally. I tried making it stand and its leg were just not holding up although they were moving. It was chirping uncomfortably. I couldn't take it to the vet yet because my parents weren't home yet so I tried looking on this forum for what to do and stuff. It thought it was Botulism so I tried giving it water by droplets from my fingers and it would just vigoriously move its neck back like towards its body and kind of squirm like I was putting lemon on an open wound or something. It would lift its head to the sky and open its mouth like it wanted mo