My baby chicken's CROP- HELP!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by kaylove, May 10, 2011.

1. kaylove

kaylove Out Of The Brooder

May 10, 2011
    I'm new to raising baby chickens and i did not know they needed "grits" or some kind of sand of stones to help them digest. Thank God I know now. Instead of grits can i use little stones like in the backyard? they're teeny tiny, not as small as sand though, but small enough for the baby chicken to eat and put into it's crop.

another question- my babies crop, i can feel the seeds and food in there and this morning some food in the crop was still there, so i took the food away for today and kept water in there. is it bad that there is still food in the crop? or may it take a few days to digest since it's still a baby? help please and thank you!

God Bless

2. jlasuzi

jlasuzi Out Of The Brooder

Apr 27, 2011
    Hello, I am a newbie to chicks as well, but I was told to intruduce grit at 3 days old and to add it like you are salting your food to their feed, or they will eat to much of it. Also their crop will go down as they digest the food, my babies stayed full and hard for the first couple of days. Good Luck!

3. acy0029

acy0029 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2011
    Tucson
    If you are only feeding chick starter you don't need grit ,they keep food in their crop for awhile just like after we eat we have food in our stomach it's nothing to be alarmed about unless you notice a problem with the chick i.e. lethargic or just not acting right or if you detect a sour smell from the chick. What are you feeding the chick? Hope this helps. [​IMG]

4. kaylove

May 10, 2011