My black australorp plucked all of her throat feathers

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by pesky, Apr 14, 2012.

1. pesky

pesky New Egg

Apr 13, 2012
    Hi, I am pretty new at being a chicken parent. Well, in my case, a chicken grandparent. ;) My question involves my black australorp hen. I believe she is about 10 months old. She could be a little older. Anyway, she has always been a preener. Probably more than is typical because she was an only bird for several months. I noticed recently that she has plucked all of her throat feathers. Is this normal?
    She appears healthy otherwise. We got 2 chicks at the end of September, and she is a wee bit jealous of them. I am wondering if perhaps she is stressed? She is not showing any other symptoms. She lays consistently, free roams the entire yard, sleeps in her cage at night in the house, and is an indoor/outdoor chicken. Other than the babies, I cannot think of anything that has changed. I believe she molted several months ago, if the amount of feathers she lost is an indicator.
    I am really at a loss as to why she would be doing this. When she is let out of her cage first thing in the morning, she goes outside to do her business. She lets out a pretty impressive squirt of greenish, runny, poop. Could there be more than one issue here?
    Any help is greatly appreciated, thank you.

2. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens

I'm wondering how in the world she's able to pluck her throat feathers??? How does she reach??? In wondering that, I would just make certain that you've inspected her closely for mites/lice. Also, are you certain this area had regrown since her last molt?? Now if it was belly feathers, I'd wonder if she was trying to go broody, but not with throat feathers...