My black Cochin has only laid 2 eggs out of 2 wks, is she done?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by leasmom, Aug 29, 2008.

1. leasmom

leasmom Chillin' With My Peeps

May 25, 2008
    I am new to chickens esp. Cochins, because I didn't raise this one so I don't know how old she is. But she has only laid twice...is she done with laying?

2. leasmom

May 25, 2008
    Okay, she just laid an egg...why would it be 2 wks since she laid last though???

3. Hangin Wit My Peeps

Hangin Wit My Peeps AutumnBreezeChickens.com

Apr 20, 2008
    Birnamwood, Wisconsin
    She is possibly an older hen and just laying sporadically now. Do you know how old she is?

4. kaya's farm

kaya's farm Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 6, 2008
    southern VT
    my cochins are the worst layers of all my chickens but they are very cute I think i have gotten about 10 eggs from each and the others have layed at least 50? I thought it was just the bread?

5. leasmom

May 25, 2008
    No, I don't know how old she is. I know my other Mama Cochin-(Cheese Omelette) has laid only 6 -7 eggs in the last two weeks, and she's the one we're getting most of our eggs from at this point since my original hen-(Mushroom Omelette) hasn't started yet...she still has a few more weeks, so this Mama has laid just maybe 3 times a week...and this one-(Greek Omelette) laid 2 eggs the first week and then nothing and then today, one. This is my daughter Lea holding the egg Greek Omelette had. She said she saw her lay it...I've sat outside for hours and still haven't seen them lay yet...

[​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 29, 2008
  6. luvzmybabz

luvzmybabz Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 11, 2007
    2 questions how long have you had them and how hot is it where you live?

One of my breeder pens got seperated from the main flock them it got hot and I think maybe a summer molt the have not laid in probably 2 months.