My bratty - Feathered children.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Mother_of_30, Jul 22, 2011.

1. Mother_of_30

Mother_of_30 New Egg

Jul 22, 2011
    I am still new at raising chickens, I am going into my second year and I am having a blast! I started out with 11 ladies and 1 man of the roost, however he had to go. He was attacking me every time I went outside and had my hair in a ponytail. It got so bad that one day, he had me against the fence trying to tear my legs apart. Therefore, he had to go to a new home.
    During the first year, I lost two of my girls, one to a horrible tractor incident and the other to a coyote. I cried for days over their loss. This spring we (my boyfriend and I) decided to get a few more girls. I have found that peeps are like potato chips, you cannot buy just one... buy the time it was over with I ended up with 28 chickens and 2 ducks ( they were lonely and needed a home) . I lost two of the peeps within the first two weeks, so now I have 26 chickens and the 2 ducks (they think they are chickens and the chickens just think they are weird looking chickens).
    I have a mix of chickens, I have three bantams, 5 white, two ornamental, three black and whites and the rest are reddish, as for the exact breeds, I do not know. I just know they make me laugh. As soon as I walk outside, they all run up to me and just “chatter” until I bend over and scratch every single one of them. For the record only one has a name and it is Peep peep... she was the smallest one and I had to give her special attention, almost lost her a couple of time but she is a “big” girl now even though she is half the size of the other regular sized birds.
    I am a bit worried right now though, even with three fans their coop is still hitting 110 every day, and at night only cools to just over 80. During the day, I let them free range, so they can find shade but so they can eat the bugs.