My broody buff is going to be a mommy!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by KarenP, Mar 28, 2012.

1. KarenP

KarenP Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 6, 2011
    Westport
    My Buff Orp. has gone broody, so i decided to let her become a mom. This is my first time,so any advice would be really appreciated. I would also appreciate stories of unexpected obstacles that have occured with your broody hens.

Thanks

Karen

2. bobbi-j

bobbi-j Chicken Obsessed

Mar 15, 2010
    On the MN prairie.
    Does she have a secure nesting spot? Put some eggs under her and let her do her thing. If she's in a separate coop, make sure she has food and water available. Not right where she can sit and eat and drink. Broodies do get up once a day or so to eat, drink and eliminate waste. You may not see her do it, because they tend to like to be secretive. I would also suggest to just leave her alone as much as possible. After all, chickens have been hatching eggs for thousands of years without human intervention. They come preset with exactly the right temperature, humidity and egg turner. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the next few weeks while she does the work for you!

3. KarenP

Aug 6, 2011
    Westport
    Thanks for your advice. I can't wait to experience this, she is such a sweet hen and will be a great mom!! I hae 2 coops, should i move her and her eggs now, so she can be alone? Will this make her too lonely??

4. bobbi-j

bobbi-j Chicken Obsessed

Mar 15, 2010
    On the MN prairie.
    How long has she been on the eggs? She might move OK, she might not. Last fall I moved my BO (at night) and it was a disaster. When I checked in the morning, she was off the nest and eggs were scattered all over. She had been setting for a week. Can you move the other chickens instead? She will not be lonely. They prefer to be alone when setting. At least mine do. If you do decide to move her, do it at night and as smoothly as possible.

5. KarenP

Aug 6, 2011
    Westport