1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

My chicken cant stand up?? Falling over?? Please help

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by lil chicks rule, Feb 4, 2012.

1. lil chicks rule

lil chicks rule New Egg

Feb 4, 2012
    My 1 yr old chicken started acting funny about 4 -5 day back. She seems dizzy and cant stand. falling over. We finally pulled her from the coop and put her in the sun and she just layed there. We finally brought her inside and I gave her some water which she took instantly and I feed her some cooked eggs which she also ate. Her head is quivering, but she still seems alert. Is she egg bound? The other chickens are attacking her now! Please help me figure out the next step. Im new to chickens and this experience is awful. It seems to me like she has lost her equilibrium????

2. scratch'n'peck

scratch'n'peck Overrun With Chickens

Oct 31, 2008
    West Michigan
    My Coop
    Poor hen. What breed is she?

A couple possible leads might be wry neck or Mareks. With wry neck they can seem dizzy but I would describe the neck as more not staying straight and moving around kind of aimlessly. Check this link to see if some of the symptoms sound similar: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/97121/lets-talk-wry-neck-crook-neck Try doing a search on the site on these diseases and see if the symptoms mentioned match what you see. It doesn't sound like she is egg bound. Let us know if you notice any other symptoms.

Unfortunately chickens tend to pick on sick members of the flock.

Last edited: Feb 4, 2012
  3. lil chicks rule

lil chicks rule New Egg

Feb 4, 2012
    Thanks for your reply.