1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

my chicken dilema...want opinions

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by imtc, Dec 13, 2008.

1. imtc

imtc Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 30, 2008
    I have 2 chickens (Hannah...a california white & Lilly...a barred rock) I bought back in May as newly hatched chicks. They are very tame and started laying sometime in Oct. I am new at the chicken thing as these are my 1st ones. I enjoy visiting with them a few times during the day and love collecting my 2 eggs...one white and one brown. After visiting a neighbor one day I spotted her Aracana's and really liked their look with their fluffy neck and ear tufts and the fact that they lay green eggs so have been wanting one for some time. My local feed store was out of them but the owner said she had some at her house she would sell me once they were big enough to not fit thru the fencing I will house them in. My "coop" is actually a pretty large dog run with a rabbit hutch inside that houses their nesting boxes. (I also have 5 rabbits in there with them and they all get along great). My dilema now is...my neighbor gave me the aracana hen a couple days ago and now I'm having second thoughts of keeping her. For one...she doesn't look like the "fluffy necked" ones I had seen and was picturing, she is full grown (at least the same age as mine (if not older), and seems to have "taken over" Hannah and Lilly's space and disrupted their environment somewhat. There are no fights breaking out or anything but the new one "Miley" (yes...my daughter named them all after Hannah Montana characters...lol) shows some aggression or pecking when I feed them trying to keep my original two away from the food. She spends a lot of time just laying in their nesting box (even on their eggs) yet hasn't l