My chicken is brooding, anything to worry about?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by CyborgChickens, Nov 7, 2015.

1. CyborgChickens

CyborgChickens Out Of The Brooder

Jul 15, 2015
    Wisconsin
    So I found my missing chicken, Mrs. Cluckers, in a pile of hay bales. She was sitting on 10-12 eggs. I have no experience with brooding chickens and hatching chicks but, in forsight i should have seen this since i have a rooster. I am expecting buff ameracana's since Mrs. Clucker's is a Buff oringington and the rooster is an ameracana. any advise will be Awsome. Should i let her brood or get an incubater.[​IMG]

2. Pyxis

Pyxis Hatchaholic Extrordinaire Premium Member

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    I would go ahead and let her brood :) Just make sure where she is is safe from predators. Broody hens make great mothers.

For your chicks, you won't be getting buff ameraucanas, at least in the sense that they are true ameraucanas but buff in color. They'll be mixes and you can expect to see some variety, both in color and possibly in comb type too. You'll probably also get some with muffs and some without. You could call them easter eggers, if you wanted, since easter eggers are just mixed breed birds that lay various colored eggs.

1 person likes this.
  3. CyborgChickens

Jul 15, 2015
    Wisconsin
    I think she's safe from predators because she's in the center of a pile of hay bales and I put food and water by her. Mrs. Cluckers disappered a couple weeks ago, we think she was brooding, but how long untill i have little chicks. I grabbed a couple eggs by mistake then left them on a table on my poarch and the wind blew the eggs on the ground and one of the eggs really cracked and the in side looked kinda like this.[​IMG] The egg embreo was closest to the 2nd collem, 2nd row.[​IMG]

4. Pyxis

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop