my chicken is losing all her feathers and not laying!!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by mox34, Mar 18, 2012.

1. mox34

mox34 New Egg

Mar 18, 2012
    Help!! I am new to keeping chickens, I originally brought 3 and then found out one was a cockerel, and I have since adopted another.
    My problem is one of my hens has lost all her feather from underneath, she has also stopped laying but she is constantly sitting in the nesting box and if the others lay she lays on those and pecks you if you try to move her. I have checked for mites and they all seem clear the others have lost some feather but they seem to have grown new ones.

2. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    It sounds like a broody hen to me. They pluck their breast feathers out so that they can more easily transfer their body heat to the eggs. If she's sitting on fertilized eggs, they'll hatch in 21 days from the time she began to sit on them.

3. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    She's broody. She wants to hatch babies.

4. mox34

mox34 New Egg

Mar 18, 2012
    I really dont want her to how can i stop her so her feathers grow back???

5. mikecnorthwest

mikecnorthwest Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2009
    Vancouver, WA
    My Coop
    People have all sorts of remedies for a broody hen. Personally I just keep removing the eggs daily and let her get through the broodiness on her own.

6. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    Search "breaking a broody".

7. jdywntr

jdywntr Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 31, 2009
    Somerville, AL