My chicken just died! Can you help me figure out why?

dtress

In the Brooder
8 Years
Jan 2, 2012
hit.gif

My healthy 3 month old chicken just got very tame, lethargic, fluffed up and then died suddenly in a 24 hour period. I only noticed symptoms for an hour before she died.
I am so worried that whatever caused this might lead to more deaths in the flock. I am new at this and have come up with a few possibilities:

1. Weed killer and lawn fertilizer applied to lawn (where chickens graze) in June and Sept respectively. We've had a heavy rain and a lot of sprinkler use since then.
2. Hydrangea and jasmine accessible to birds about 30 min/day.
3. Didn't wash water and food containers with soap/hot water for a few weeks. Just scrubbed well with cold water.
4. They are sleeping in a coop with 100 watt infared bulb with outside temps at 35-40 at night. I leave the window open about 2 inches for ventilation. (4x4' coop with 6 hens)

Could any of these have caused her death? Anything I should do for the other chickens to keep them safe?

Any advice from the veterans out there would be great.
Thank you!

I just cleaned out the coop and didn't notice any blood. They've been eating medicated feed for 12 weeks. I would hope that would prevent Cocci...
Is this contagious? Thanks for your reply.

Quote:
Medicated feed doesnt guarantee that your birds will be free from one of the 9 types of cocci that chickens can get. It is contageous. Corid will treat cocci, all 9 types. It can be found in the cattle section at your feed store.
BTW, did you see any worms in the poop? Check your birds for lice/mites as well.

Last edited:
I agree with dawg53. I'd be on the way to the store to treat them all for coccidiosis at that age. Those are the very symptoms of coccidiosis. They might not all die or show symptoms but it does affect their health because the damage done to the intestines affects future egglaying and health.