my chicken talks ALLLLLL night and day

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by pinkpeach, Oct 16, 2011.

1. pinkpeach

pinkpeach Out Of The Brooder

Oct 16, 2011
    I am new to the chicken world. We were given two Leghorn Hens about 6 weeks ago, they are a year old, friendly and lay every day. We recently added two new younger hens (frizzle and a barred/cochin/bantam mix) to the coop, they are around 4 months (from what I was told). Our Leghorns are only vocal when they want to be let out of the coop or when they are both preparing and finished laying their eggs. Our frizzle was injured and is now kept inside while she recovers, we were advised to keep her "friend" (the little barred mix) with her to avoid loneliness.........We did this (yesterday was the first day) We took a large kennel and prepared it for them. Our little barred mix chirped (for lack of a better word) ALL day and ALL night. We looked at her in the evening and she appeared to be chirping in her sleep. Is this normal? If so why does she do this? We cover the cage around 7pm because that is what time they would normally retire to the hen house. Could this be why the Leghorns pick on her, because she's a talker???

2. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

. Edited because is now in proper section of BYC..

Thanks mods and OP!

Last edited: Oct 16, 2011
  3. pinkpeach

Oct 16, 2011
    how do I ask to have it moved to that section?? My injured Frizzle is not the one talking. She seems to be doing fine, eating, drinking and taking her meds very well. My talking chicken is my mini barred rock mix. We got her and the frizzle from the same coop (frizzle babies her). Maybe she was just talking to the injured one because they had been apart for 24 hours, I have no idea. We are keeping them together in the house. Our frizzle gets very upset when the mini barred is out of her sight.

4. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens