My chicken went broody! What do I do?

katie197888

In the Brooder
8 Years
Mar 21, 2011
Upperco, MD
Our chickens are 7 months old and one of them have decided to lay on her eggs! I am new to this (As we hatched ours from an incubator)..so what do I do!? This will be the 4th day so we are going to allow her to keep laying since they are starting to develop in the egg. But once they hatch, do we take them away, or will she raise them amongst the other chickens?

Let her raise them
smile.png
JMO

Let me begin with I am new also. But, from everything I have read, chickens tend to be better at raising chicks than people are. I have a broody who is now setting on 7 eggs. I assume you have a rooster, so you know your eggs are fertile? I don't have a rooster so I went and got some fertile eggs from someone. Then I set them all under her with markings, I did star's, so that I won't confuse them if my other hen lays an egg and my broody takes it :eek:)

This link has some very good info that might be useful. https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=6549057#p6549057
My
plan is to let the hen set the eggs, and then raise the babies. I am not separating the chicks from the other hen, as I only have 2 hens.

Best of luck to you on this new adventure
big_smile.png

The BEST incubator is the hen, bar non. When they hatch let mama take care of them but keep a eye out. Mom will get real agressive defending them unless you have a real meanie in the bunch. After they hatch just keep a eye on the situation. If she has gone broody she might lay one more but for the most part she will go "Off the Lay". You are now in the fun part
wee.gif