MY chickens are eating their eggs!!!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by mjckrc2, May 3, 2011.

1. mjckrc2

mjckrc2 New Egg

May 3, 2011
    Hi, I am new to the sight and new to raising my own chickens, I was hoping that someone could help me figure out what to do about my chickens, they have begun to eat their own eggs! I try to take them out as soon as they lay them but the chickens eat them immediately. So if anyone has any suggestions I would love to hear them. Thank you!

MAtt

2. Atlchick

Atlchick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 5, 2009
    Grayson, GA
    [​IMG] Hi Matt! You are going to L-O-V-E this site. I've had to resort to this trick a couple of times, but it works for us. I get an egg and blow out the contents, then fill it with liquid soap, and seal the ends with candle wax. After a good mouthful of soap, the offending hen usually learns her lesson. Although it sometimes takes more than one try. I've heard of using other fowl (Ha!) ingredients like hot sauce, but I just stick with liquid soap.

Let's see if there are other suggestions......

3. KansasBoy

KansasBoy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2011
    Topeka
    [​IMG]

Do you have oyster shell available to them? Usually they do this because they need the extra calcium, you can always bake some empty egg shells and crumble them up to offer them as well. It's no different than a cat/dog eating grass... [​IMG]

4. Ms.Frizzle

Ms.Frizzle Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2011
    Wisconsin
    If you do choose to crumble the eggs, dry the shells on a cookie sheet in the oven first, and crush the shell small enough so that it is no-longer recognizably a chicken egg. This way the hens don't get reinforced for chicken eggs=food.

5. mjckrc2

mjckrc2 New Egg

May 3, 2011
    Well thank you guys so much! Do you think if I changed their feed to a higher calcium food that this may solve their problem, plus try the soap thing? Thank you for your help!

6. Ms.Frizzle