My chickens have not started laying yet

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by mikeclfc, Oct 25, 2015.

1. mikeclfc

mikeclfc New Egg

Oct 25, 2015
    I am new to keeping chickens, we did quite a lot of research before we decided to get any chickens. We bought a 2 story coop, and built a additional 8 ft run. There are way to many hawks in the area to let them totally free range, I let them out when I am home to keep an eye on them and they don't ever seem to want to go far from the coop, they seem to just stretch there wings and go straight back to the coop. I started with about 4 young hens, 2 California whites and 2 jersey giants, I was told they were about 3-4 months old at the time, they looked pretty small and seemed quite used to humans so I believed what I was told from gave them to me, since then I have acquired 2 other chickens, one a 6 month old red and another calfornia white which i suspect to be a rooster (although its not crowing, is significantly larger than the hens and has a large comb and pointed tailfeather). I have had these chickens for around 3-4 months now, I feed them flock raiser and laying crumbles, and water them every day, I was wondering what maybe causing me to get no eggs? I understood that chickens can start laying from 6 months up and thought that maybe I would have gotten at least 1 egg by now (that's the whole reason I decided to get chickens) Im also wondering if its something im doing in the coop? maybe cleanliness, or location of food and water etc? As of right now all the chickens are between 6 and 9 months old maybe a little older. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited: Oct 25, 2015
  2. Oglan

Oglan Out Of The Brooder

Oct 18, 2015
    New Hampshire