My chickens keep pecking at my eyes--I'm bloody!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Trashcraft, Oct 24, 2015.

1. Trashcraft

Trashcraft Out Of The Brooder

Sep 16, 2015
    Hello, I'm new to BYC and I have 3 (11 week) golden wyandottes and 3 silver cuckoo marans. I like to sit on the stoop and feed them from my hands, but even when they were tiny they'd go for my eyes! They still do this. I have to be very careful doing yardwork--if I bend down or squat down, they go straight for my eyes and have grabbed hold my lids and drew blood a couple times now. I am getting good and closing my eyes tightly if one is nearby. How do I stop this without frightening them-- I enjoy it when they sit nicely on my legs or lap or shoulder. I don't want to lose my eyesight!
    Thanks, B

rbnk1 likes this.
  2. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Let It Snow Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    Unfortunately that comes with too tame poultry, they might lose interest in doing it as they get older. That's one of the reasons I don't handle mine so much, after they grow up I befriend them by feeding goodies, but they don't come into my space like that.

3. 123RedBeard

123RedBeard Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 20, 2014
    Arizona
    Back hand them!

Or wear safety goggles!

4. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    At 11 weeks, you can take your index finger and tap them on their head, like a peck, to correct them. Be cautious not to get your face too close to them. Eyeballs are shiny, and chickens peck to investigate things they are curious about. They don't mean to hurt you.

Birdinhand likes this.
  5. Trashcraft

Sep 16, 2015
    I think I will start wearing my glasses outside!

rbnk1 likes this.
  6. Trashcraft

Sep 16, 2015
    I'll try it!

7. rbnk1

rbnk1 Chillin' With My Peeps

I am so glad to see Im not the only one this happens to!!