My chickens will not lay eggs.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by jfarrell1220, Oct 28, 2010.

1. jfarrell1220

jfarrell1220 New Egg

Jul 31, 2010
    I am new to the chicken world.. I acquired a rooster and two hens. My rooster is around seven months and one hen is nine months and one is around ten months. We have a coop in our backyard. We built boxes for them and lined it with straw. We have had no eggs. One of the hens that we got was laying before. we gave her a month and now she is not laying either. We do not know what is wrong. I need help..

2. LivinNewDreamInND

LivinNewDreamInND Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 22, 2010
    Do you have an enclosed run for them or do they free range? Maybe they are laying their eggs somewhere else.

3. jfarrell1220

jfarrell1220 New Egg

Jul 31, 2010
    We let them out of the coop during the day and I watched to see where they usually sit and I went and searched back there and I could not find any..

4. dsqard

dsqard Crazy "L" Farms

Jun 11, 2010
    York PA
    [​IMG]
    There are many factors that may have stopped egg laying for a while. First of all, are you sure that one of the hens was laying eggs before you got her? Some hens take longer to mature. I just got my first egg the other day from an almost eight month old pullet. It just takes longer for some of them to start. In fact from what I have read on here it is better for them to be a little older before they start laying since internal egg laying happens more often in hens that started laying really young. Second, they may still be adjusting from the move. Third the days are getting shorter so that can affect egg laying as well. You could try supplementing the amount of light they get in a day by putting a light in the coop. One last thing that could be happening is that they could be moulting although if they are all under a year old that is not probable. Just keep feeding them layer food and see how it goes. Hope this helps!