My chicks are arriving today!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by ChickpeaCT, Nov 13, 2013.

1. ChickpeaCT

ChickpeaCT Out Of The Brooder

Nov 7, 2013
    I am so excited for my first batch of chicks! I ordered 5 chicks from Meyer. The shipping update says they're in my state, so I hope to have them by this afternoon.

Fingers crossed that all survive the trip!

Cheers,
    Corinne

2. PineShavings

PineShavings Out Of The Brooder

Oct 2, 2013
    Tex
    Yep, looks like they should. My 50 Buff chicks are getting delivered today and should be arriving tomorrow. I ordered 150 a couple weeks ago and not a single one was dead when they arrived, very surprised.

3. kar-bear

kar-bear Out Of The Brooder

Sep 17, 2013
    St. Peters, MO
    My 9 chicks are on their way from Ideal in Tx. should be here between today and tomorrow. so excited and scared, this is my first time. I hope I have every thing ready, its like getting ready to have a baby of my own but 9... haha... I am wandering if one brooder light is enough, I will have them in a plastic storage box, it would fit a large Christmas tree. Any suggestions how to hang the light over the top? I am just doing my mothering nesting time...

4. PineShavings

PineShavings Out Of The Brooder

Oct 2, 2013
    Tex

One light is enough for 9 chicks. I have lamps that have clamps so I just get a long stick, pole, broom stick, etc. and make sure it's longer than the brooder and clamp it there. They should be fine for the first couple weeks, then they'll realize they can fly so they're gonna start jumping on each other if you don't give them adequate space.

5. MyPetNugget

MyPetNugget Enjoying the cold!!!

[​IMG]

6. realsis

realsis Crazy for Silkies

Jan 17, 2013
    California