1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

My coop! (Lots of pictures!)

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Tanka, Jul 27, 2013.

1. Tanka

Tanka In the Brooder

Apr 28, 2013
    Massachusetts
    Hello BYC'ers! Please bear with me, I'm still relatively new here and still trying to figure out how everything works. In may I picked put six chicks from my local grain store (four barred rocks and two buff orpingtons) and thought I would build my own coop. After searching around on here I thought how hard could it be? So I cleaned out a spot in my yard leveled it out and put pavers down.
    [​IMG]

Then I put a pallet on top. I put down plywood for the floor. And that's as far as I got. I'm not very good with wood working and I just couldn't figure out on my own, haha. So I found a guy on Craigslist that said he would build me one for $200. I thought that was a great deal, turns out it was better then I thought. The coop is almost 5' by 5' on the inside and about 6' tall.
    [​IMG]
    The front
    I also made the ramp.

[​IMG]
    Side with the nesting boxes

[​IMG]
    Other side/back (I was staining, you can see the bucket of stain in the corner of the picture.)

[​IMG]
    Inside

[​IMG]
    Nesting boxes

Then after looking at coops here on BYC I decided it would be a good idea to put the linoleum flooring in my coop. I went to lowes and told them what I'm doing and they brought me to the 'left overs bin'. I got a almost 13' by 6' piece for $8. Great deal!
    [​IMG]

And I cut it up and put it in.
    [​IMG]

The nesting boxes
    [​IMG]

And added pine shavings
    [​IMG]

I also attached the lock
    [​IMG]
    I will take a picture tomorrow of the whole thing all settled in.