My Coops on a Budget!!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by karaokechick, Nov 10, 2010.

1. karaokechick

karaokechick Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 25, 2010
    Naples, Florida
    First and FOREMOST I want to let you know that My DH & I know NOTHING about construction, I work as an entertainer, and he is a marine mechanic, but we both have some common sense we hoped would get us through this!

For our first coop I copied the design from a picture I found when googling chicken coops.
    It's a Simple Hoop Coop
    It's made from 3 Cattle panels (We used an old boat trailer to get these the 50+ miles home)
    (6) 2x10's from an old dock
    welded garden wire
    and poultry fencing the small hex size.
    A tarp
    roll of hardware wire for the exterior bottom to stop burrowing.
    three bags of quickcrete we dry poured over the hardware wire.
    (2) 2x4's for the door
    LOTS of Zip ties!!

This coop does not have a support post down the center, but it withstood a fairly large bear for SWFL on the top bouncing to collapse it. You can see the buckle in the middle from his weight, but it held!! We have had Panthers attack too, but nothing has gotten in as of yet. (knock on wood)

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

The new coop, so far I spent $275.00 at Lowes using the 10% off coupons found in the change of address packages found at your post office that includes two rolls of redbrand welded wire fence.

We used treated landscape timbers for posts since they only cost $2.00 each and pressure treated 2x4's at $2.00 The front 2x10's were recycled from an old dock.