My DIY Coop - Novice to all of it

FredHill

Songster
Apr 23, 2022
Central Coastal Florida, USA
Hi! I'm brand new to the whole deal! Thought I'd start with my DIY coop.
Objective: Start a coop as cheap as possible to hold 6 hens. (3 silkies and 3 pretty medium laying hens) Include all necessary elements.
Started With: An old wheeled crate with a lid. Originally built by restaurant owner to hold 3 large trash cans.
20210405_174350.jpg

As you can see it's rectangular and the hinged lid is hanging open on the right side looking down the end.
Repurpose: I decided to maximize my vertical space by using the lid as one side of the roof with steep slope.
20210506_110936.jpg

I'm a little constrained with depth and length but I'm only starting with 6 hens. I figure I can add an extension to create more floor space after I get coop set up outside.
Overall Re-Design: I took a photo of the crate with the lid (roof) in place. After some thought I scribbled all over the photo to get an idea of overall design.
20210506_120639.jpg

Additional Major Elements: 1.Shorter roof on other side with a lower slope (red). Cover roof with scavenged materials 2. Wire mesh vents for air and visual inspection (grey) allowed due to shorter lower sloped roof. 3. External nest boxes (yellow) maximising use of internal space. Plan for 2 small boxes for 3 silkies and 1 larger box for 3 hens. (I've read they will share?) 4. Maintenance door (blue) on nearest end. Provides access for raking out litter, accessing hens if necessary, etc.
Many Interim Elements: If there's interest I can fill in detail on additional steps including reinforcing floor, 3 roost bars, guillotine-style door for hens entry and exit to run, exhaust fan, internal coop walls covered with hardware cloth, etc.
Current Status: Photos of current build status. Where I am:
NOTE: Getting security error. Hopefully will finish soon. IF 1

Attachments

• 20220328_205431.jpg
    20220328_205431.jpg
    295.3 KB · Views: 9