my dog got one of my birds : (

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by janemurphy, Jul 10, 2010.

1. janemurphy

janemurphy New Egg

Jul 1, 2010
    It's my fault, but I'm still feeling sad about it. She had gotten out and was on top of her netted pen, but I didn't realize she was out, so the dog got out and jumped up and got her. I'm new to this, so now I know I need to make the pen sides higher. It's not the dog's fault - he was just being a dog. And the hen was young - about 10 weeks, so not a good enough flyer to get away. I'll do better next time, but this is a real bummer.

2. ADozenGirlz

ADozenGirlz The Chicken Chick[IMG]emojione/assets/png/00ae.png

Oct 18, 2009
    Connecticut
    Quote:That is a bummer. I've made mistakes that have cost me my birds before too. Live and learn right? "When you know better, you do better". -Maya Angelou

3. noodleroo

noodleroo Snuggles with Chickens

Apr 29, 2010
    Rockport, Tx
    So sorry; sometime these things just happen. Just beef up your pen and keep them separate. If you keep reading in this forum, you'll see that things happen sometimes no matter how good your coop is or how careful you are. We all just do the best we can...

4. NanoByte

NanoByte Out Of The Brooder

Jul 11, 2010
    Sydney
    Thats bad luck.

5. nzpouter

nzpouter Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 19, 2009
    new zealand
    it's not bad luck... just lack of preparation.. what sort of training have you done with the 2 species prior to the incident?

6. deerman

deerman Rest in Peace 1949-2012

Aug 24, 2008
    Southern Ohio
    As long as you have a chicken killing dog. This will happen again, birds get out or dog will get in, or cause them to fly into the pen, killing them.

You will need to break the dog ,or it will happen again/

7. Annabella

Annabella Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 17, 2010