My drake is not looking very well.

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Soose, Nov 25, 2010.

1. Soose

Soose New Egg

Sep 20, 2010
    Long Island
    Happy Thanksgiving to all the great BYC family!

I'm a newbie to having ducks, just having raised them since this past April. So I'm hoping some one might be able to help me in figuring whats up with George.

I've got one Khaki Campbell drake and six hens. The hens look hale and hearty, busy, glossy and generally healthy. The drake, George, on the other hand looks a bit unkempt, feathers askew, doesn't seem to eat or graze (feels thin to me), stands off from the hens, except when we have their pond set up. Their getting layer pellets and fresh veggies daily. As well as grazing several hours daily.

Is this typical behavior? Is the drake normally thin and stand offish? Is there something I can do to entice him to eat more? What might be going on? Ony advice or thoughts would be appreciated.

2. katharinad

katharinad Overrun with chickens

Is the drake eating layer pellets?
    They are toxic to him, because of the oyster shell (calcium) in it. It attacks his kidneys. Stop feeding them immediately and get regular grower developer pellets instead. For the hens offer oyster shell on the side. The hens will eat it, and he will not. They sell layer feed pellets for those that don't keep drakes around, because it is just so much simpler then offering another bowl with oyster shell. Hope he recovers soon.

3. HorseFeatherz NV

HorseFeatherz NV Eggink Chickens

You will want a feed that is for Ducks or a multi-flock. I feed Flock Raiser - has all the goodies that ducks require like niacin.

The Flock Raiser does not have extra calcium so you will need to supplement with oyster shells.

4. Soose

Soose New Egg

Sep 20, 2010
    Long Island
    Thank you...he's now off the layer pellets and will get the flock raiser ASAP. Thank you for your most speedy responses!

5. destinduck

destinduck obsessed with "ducks"

Mar 20, 2008