My dream of silver laced wyandotte hens...shattered! Now what?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by WyandotteWally, Aug 28, 2016.

1. WyandotteWally

WyandotteWally New Egg

Jul 11, 2016
    Three Lakes Wisconsin
    I am a newbie chicken Mama. Slightly obsessed chicken mama. I purchased 6 chicks at a week old, straight run. Risky... I know. They are now about 11 weeks old, full of personality and beautiful. My 3 boys and I are totally in love with them, well mostly me. I am in love with them. But there is one chick, well, that just isn't quite like the others. She has been named Freckles, she is beautiful. The rest, I am firmly starting to believe, are Roosters!! Insert sobs here...
    They get along very well, they always stick together, lay down together, follow each other around, snuggle...like loving chicken siblings??
    My questions are:
    Will I have to get rid of 4 of the roosters? (I have read that multiple Roosters can live together just fine)
    Or should I get more hens for my Roos?
    If I kept only one Rooster...would they end up making babies, so I could have more layers, like I originally wanted?

Killing them is the absolute last resort for me right now.

Freckles on the right...
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Pyxis

Pyxis Hatchaholic Extrordinaire Premium Member

Mar 27, 2012
    Vermont
    My Coop
    Yep, looks like you have one pullet and lots of boys! You can keep them and they will do fine together, but you will need a lot of girls for them so they don't injure the girls by overmating them. The general recommendation is ten hens for every rooster. You may be able to get away with fewer if your boys are pretty gentle with them. Another option would be to house the boys separately from the girls and just put one with the girls when you want fertile eggs.

Last edited: Aug 28, 2016
  3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas