My duck was attacked

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ChewyDuckyWebby, Jan 30, 2017.

1. ChewyDuckyWebby

ChewyDuckyWebby New Egg

Jan 30, 2017
    Hello my name is Jenna I am new to BYC. I have 3 ducks Chewy Ducky and Webby and yesterday my neighbors dog got into my yard and attacked Chewy when we finally got her away from the dog she didnt look so good. I brought her inside and gave her a nice warm bath and set her up an area to sleep inside. So far she has been doing good she's been eating and drinking water, but she seems to be having an issue with her left leg she can still stand, walk, and Swim. But I am worried that I'm not doing enough to keep her healthy. So are there any other things I could be doing to ensure she recovers quickly?

2. FoodFreedomNow

FoodFreedomNow Chillin' With My Peeps

Sorry to hear that Chewy was injured. [​IMG] It sounds like there are no visible wounds? Sometimes they're hidden under the feathers, but it's important to identify and start treating those right away. It's possible that she may have internal injuries, too, if the dog got a hold of her, so keeping her warm and quiet is good. Increasing the protein in her feed and adding a vitamin/electrolyte supplement to her water may help assist her recovery, too.

Can you post a photo of her left leg? If she can bear weight on it, that's a positive sign. Is it swollen?

Best wishes for her speedy recovery!

3. FoodFreedomNow

technical issue - double post

Last edited: Jan 30, 2017
  4. ChewyDuckyWebby

ChewyDuckyWebby New Egg

Jan 30, 2017