My ducklings are so afraid/flighty.

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by jenngeorge, Mar 20, 2015.

1. jenngeorge

jenngeorge New Egg

Feb 25, 2015
    tennessee
    Hi all,

I'm new to raising poultry. We have ducks and a couple chickens. The ducks are about 12-14 weeks old. They have been held and interacted with daily since they were a few days old, yet they still run and throw a fit every time I get close to them. Is that just the nature of a duck? I'm a little disappointed. The chickens run to me, and the ducks run away. I have moved them to an outside coop within the last week. This has only made them even more flighty around my family. Does anyone have any suggestions to warm them up a little bit?

Thank you!
    Jenn

2. DucksnDaffodils

DucksnDaffodils Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 18, 2013
    Michigan
    Ducks are just more independent and flighty when there is more than 1 of them. The nature of a duck, is an intense herd animal. So if you only have one they will imprint on you and follow you everywhere! But if you have a bunch of them, they tend to be happy with themselves and be skittish around humans. That being said.... have you tried treats?? I've treat trained all the different batches of ducklings I've raised, and while they've NEVER liked to be held or petted too much, they would come when I called, eat out of my hand, and even lay down next to me if I was sitting still on the grass. That's the other thing. NO FAST MOVEMENT. Just sit down near them and let them get used to you being around. No grabbing, holding, chasing or picking up. Ducks like friendship to be on their terms, and any pushing will just make them hate you. But if you lure them, and never try to grab them they will get comfortable enough to come up and maybe even nibble around your toes. [​IMG]

3. Tevyes Dad

Tevyes Dad Leader of the Quack Premium Member

Apr 22, 2014
    Montana
    X2