My ducks are destroying my greenhouse

Discussion in 'Ornamental Fowl (Swans, etc.)' started by junglarium, Jan 12, 2013.

1. junglarium

junglarium Out Of The Brooder

Nov 11, 2012
    This is my first year of keeping ducks (mandarins and muscovy) and I thaught it would be a good idea to keep them in my warm greenhouse during the cold winter except now they are eating every plant they can get to.

What should I do???

Luc

Last edited: Jan 12, 2013
  2. aldren90

aldren90 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 11, 2010
    Florida
    Ok, I can almost guarantee you it's the Muscovies eating your greens. I have mandarin, wood ducks, call ducks, and hottentot teal in a planted aviary and they never both my greens. Your Muscovies will do fine out side by themselves. You may want to separate them from your wild waterfowl because Muscovies can carry harmful disease that can kill wild waterfowl. Also shear intimidation of them can really damage another. So I would advise moving the Muscovies out. ;)

3. junglarium

Nov 11, 2012
    Thanks.

Can a muscovy survive outside here in Canada where it can get really cold?

4. aldren90

aldren90 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 11, 2010
    Florida
    They may need shelter and a heat lamp and maybe some hay or straw to keep them cozy and that should do it!

5. junglarium

Nov 11, 2012
    Thanks.

I'm a bit stuck right now cause we already have snow on the ground. Would you have any ideas for a temporary pen just for the winter?

6. Blob Chicken

Blob Chicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 2, 2009
    Where in Canada are you ?? Also are they Wild or domestic Mandarins ??

'Scovies can be iffy in north Canadian cold, but generally with access to clean bathing water and shelter they should be alright. Males with lots of face caruncles might have to worry about freezing them though.