My experiences with shipped eggs, if anyone cares.

Discussion in 'Quail' started by TexasChris, Jun 6, 2011.

1. TexasChris

TexasChris Out Of The Brooder

May 2, 2011
    Im fairly new to the coturnix quail and so far have hatched nothing but shipped eggs. My first hatch I hatched 32 out of 107 eggs, my second hatch i hatched 52 out of 156 eggs (I ordered 300 plus and over 170 eggs were broken talk about terrible packing!). So I was talking to my dad about the not so wonderful hatch rates I was having (not that it couldnt have been worse), but I being the purchaser was blaming this on the shipper and assuming the eggs were not fertile, he being a veteran of shipped eggs told me that bringing the eggs in and waiting 24 hours before setting was where my problem was he said to let them sit right where the postman delivered them for an hour and them set them with the turners off untill the end of day2. He also told me that I would probably start getting chicks as much as 3 days early. So I had the next 55 eggs arrive and I did as he said ( thinking i was doing wrong) early in day 15 i had 3 chicks hatch later that day I had one more on day 16 I had 3 more early chicks, today is day 17 and 41 more chicks have hatched there are 7 eggs left in the incubator and 4 have pipped ! Could it be that the incubation procces is starting during shipping and letting them rest at room temperature is killing the embroyos? This is by far the best hatch ive ever had and the eggs were shipped from Minesotta to south Texas by far the farthest of any eggs ive recieved. Oh and by the way 4 days after i set these eggs I recieved another 15 eggs from another source and 1 was broken but I let them rest for 24 hours while I got my other bator going and when I candled them there is only 6 that are developing.

Thanks for listening to my rambling and im not saying this is right its just what I am experiencing first hand.
    Chris

2. Stellar

Stellar The Quail Lady

Feb 6, 2010
    Tampa Bay