My first chicken coop, thoughts?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Anarchy82, Aug 10, 2011.

1. Anarchy82

Anarchy82 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 10, 2011
    Stroudsburg, PA
    So I am new to the chicken world, and took ideas from the internet and from my friends chicken coop. I also went out to a couple of shed dealers that also sold coops to get ideas.

The overall sizie is 5 feet wide, 3 feet depth and 4 feet height in front, 5 feet height in back. Has a shingled roof which I don't have a picture of yet, and the whole coop is painted the wonderful blue color that I picked up from lowes as a return for $4. Inside has a lynolium floor, and panel for walls. I figured it would be easier to keep clean. All walls are insulated, and there is an outlet installed for a light source, and for heat come winter time. Most of the coop was built using scrap material from my construction job site at work.

Here are some pics that were taken during construction

[​IMG]
    Sidewalls attached to floor.

[​IMG]
    Insullation in walls, and panel going up.

[​IMG]
    All walls up and the roof installed. Strong enough to hold me, can hold 2 feet of snow easily. lol

[​IMG]
    Front of house is one big door that can be opened to clean inside of coop.

2. ladyride

ladyride Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 30, 2011
    East Tn
    Love the color [​IMG] You might think about a little more ventilation , a couple of floor vents on each side close to roof would work great. [​IMG] Got strength [​IMG]

3. knjinnm

knjinnm Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 5, 2010
    Sandia Park, NM
    Why such a big run for such a small coop?
    Fifteen square feet is just big enough for 2-3 hens ... no roosters.
    Where do you live?

4. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens