1. Come check out hundreds of awesome coop pages (and a few that need suggestions) in our 2018 Coop Rating Project!

My First Eggs - Candling Thread - How do they look? UPDATED

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Shayna, Aug 14, 2011.

1. Shayna

Shayna I [IMG]emojione/assets/png/2665.png?v=2.2.7[/IMG]

Aug 2, 2011
    Midwest
    I candled all of my Silkie eggs received by mail yesterday before putting them in the incubator today, and I am posting quite a few of the pictures to see what everyone thinks. I think they look pretty good, although several have shadows in the egg, which move if I turn the egg. There are also a few that clearly have detached air cells, and several are quite porous. All in all, I think if incubation goes well I have a good chance to get quite a few to hatch. This is my first attempt at hatching eggs. I'll be really happy if I can get 6-12 of the 24 eggs to hatch. What do you think? Sorry so many pictures (18), but I wanted to include as many as possible for detail. Two looked like they had possible internal cracks when I candled, so I did put a little pure soy wax on them.

There is an egg that I think is for a white silkie, and its brown like the others, but so dark I can't candle into it at all. The color seems uneven, light would shine through a little, but barely. I couldn't get any pictures. Is that normal for some silkie eggs?

The pictures for the others are here:
    http://s1217.photobucket.com/albums/dd388/shaynablizard/Hatching Silkies/

Last edited: Aug 20, 2011

2. clatsopduck

clatsopduck In the Brooder

Aug 13, 2011
    at my computer
    I don't have any experience with silkies, but I do have experience with hatching eggs.
    My most recent experience with shipped eggs is that they don't seem to do as well as the home-grown ones so I expect your anticipated numbers is reasonable.