My First Hatch - The Adventure Begins

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Bob1956, Aug 15, 2011.

1. Bob1956

Bob1956 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 22, 2011
    The big day has arrived, and it’s the start of my first quail adventure.

This is my first attempt at hatching eggs, I have acquired 12 x fertile japanese quail eggs.

[​IMG]

I am amazed at the size and colour variations in the eggs. The length of my eggs range from 35.7mm - 32.6mm long and 26.5mm and 25.6mm in diameter.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The eggs went into the pre warmed incubator today at 12.00pm (Mon 15th August). I am dry incubating, and will only add water on day 15, and raise the RH to 70% ready for hatching.

[​IMG]

The incubator temperature is set to 37.5 Celsius. The temperature dropped when the eggs went in but recovered within 30 minutes, perhaps due to the small size of the incubator. I will reduce the temperature on day 15 to 37.0 Celsius.

[​IMG]

I will keep updating this thread, and you can follow along as the adventure unfolds.

Regards Bob

2. Mibotsu

Mibotsu Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2011
    Balbriggan, Ireland
    sounds awesome, you know what color variation birds you might be getting?

3. Fat Daddy

Fat Daddy Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 11, 2010
    Ks
    Welcome to the jungle Bob!!! There's a real good chance your already infected!!! I can see alot of symptoms already. Shinny new bator, found a place you can score eggs. Your exhibiting all the early signs of a quail junkie!! Good luck with your addiction... Bill

4. Bob1956

Jul 22, 2011
    Hi Mibotsu

Yeah I am really excited, and we are only on day zero. When I collected the eggs from a local breeder, he let me take them straight from the breeding cages. He had a variety of colours together, Wild, Red, Fawn and Pied. I just took a selection from each cage, so the outcome will be a surprise.

Regards Bob

5. Bob1956

Jul 22, 2011
    Quote:Is there any cure, or treatment that you could recommend ?

Regards Bob

6. TwoCrows