My first set... and there are twins

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by fanov8, Sep 8, 2010.

1. fanov8

fanov8 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2010
    East TN
    Hi everyone! I had not planned on incubating any eggs until next year. We recently moved to Tennessee from Indiana, my husband is still working in Indiana but was down to visit for the weekend. His brother called and said that our rooster went after the dog and as you can imagine it didn't end well [​IMG] So I grabbed a few eggs (ok 10) out of the fridge. I let them sit out overnight and then stuck them in the incubator. When my husband came home the next weekend he brought the 4 eggs that were laid the same day as our rooster accident so I threw them in there too. I'm new to hatching so I didn't realize that I should have candled first to see if any eggs were double yolkers. So when I candled on day 7 I was surprised to see a double yolker with veins. It seems to be the only one of the 10 refrigerated eggs to be doing anything, but then again the others are dark brown eggs. And all 4 of the fresh eggs had veining when I candled on day 4. Does anyone know if one of the "twins" doesn't make it, would it be possible for the other to fully develop? I really hope these guys make it because I would love to have some little fuzz butts to remind us of our rooster that we lost. He was a White Crested Black Polish and the hens are a Barred Rock, RIR, Black Sex Link, and Red Sex Link. I'm kinda curious as to what these guys will look like too. Anyhow, today is day 9 for the first 10 and day 7 for the other 4. This is so stressful waiting! I feel like a first time mom! [​IMG]

2. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    Hello,